# **Pō Whakanui—Celebration of Success**

#### 2022 NOMINEES AND WINNERS FOR AWARDS

# Cultural Group of the Year

Nominees

**ShowQuest Team** 

**Ngā Manu Tioriori:** Onslow College Choir

Tarikākā Productions: Pepi Olliver Bell, Waimarie Carter, Louise Gromme, Alexander Sawyer.

**Te Kapa Haka o Tarikākā:** Onslow College Kapa haka

Winner

#### **ShowQuest Team**

Te Aupikitanga Award Winner

#### Winner

**Tia Te Awa-Douglas** 

# Cultural Individual/s of the Year

Nominees

**Tia Te Awa-Douglas** 

Tumanako Waa

**Olivia Marshall** 

**Pepi Olliver-Bell** 

**Isabelle Faulkner** 

Nikeel Singh

Logan Heppell

**Lizzie Evans** 

Winner

**Lizzie Evans** 

To Tohu Amokura Award Winners

Winners

Maia Thompson

**Tuia Reedy** 

# Academic Group of

the Year

Nominees

#### Anuha Som and Jude Anderson

Year 12 Te Reo Māori class: Rose Carruthers, Pip Cowley, Lizzie Evans, Walter Hamer, Rangimārie McKay-Maxwell, Aaliyah Ridout, Billie Robertson, Jacob Taylor, Elliot Verkade, Brooke Wharehinga and Jahrome Willson

Sam Cooper, James Merwood, Kate Whelan, Finn McKenzie and Jack Porter

Winner

### **Anuha Som and Jude Anderson**

Community Contribution Award

Nominees

**Sophie Crozier** 

Olivia Ingham

Oscar Pierson, Jacob Hemsley and George Patrick

Winner

Oscar Pierson, Jacob Hemsley and George Patrick

# Leadership Award

Nominees

Lucy Smith

**Lily Harward-Jones** 

Hughan Scott

**Sophie Crozier** 

Kate Whelan

Lizzie Evans

Logan Heppell

**Kyle Dar** 

Benjy Smith, Alan Teesdale, James Richards

Winner

### Lucy Smith



# Onslow Spirit

Award

Nominees

#### **Frankie Huthnance**

#### Georgia Mautz

**Alex Morton** 

#### George Patrick, Oscar Pierson and Jacob Hemsley

Jamie Willmer

**Ethan Harris** 

#### Year 12 Te Reo Māori class:

Rose Carruthers, Pip Cowley, Lizzie Evans, Walter Hamer, Rangimārie McKay-Maxwell, Aaliyah Ridout, Billie Robertson, Jacob Taylor, Elliot Verkade, Brooke Wharehinga and Jahrome Willson

#### Winner

#### Year 12 Te Reo Māori class:

Rose Carruthers, Pip Cowley, Lizzie Evans, Walter Hamer, Rangimārie McKay-Maxwell, Aaliyah Ridout, Billie Robertson, Jacob Taylor, Elliot Verkade, Brooke Wharehinga and Jahrome Willson







# **Junior Values Awards Winners**

## ONSLOW COLLEGE VALUES

#### Whānau

Onslow College is about being an extended family. It is a collective who cares. We take the time to know each other, and we work hard to make sure that everyone feels safe. Whānau show care for each other.

#### Whenau

School is important for being a place for akonga to find sustenance so that they can grow and strive. This means that at Onslow, we focus on wellbeing and identity. This is shown in all that we do and say to sustain growth and the ability to thrive.

#### Whakapapa

Layers make up who we are. The way these layers combine make us unique. It also identifies all that akōnga bring with them each day. The way our families and influences make us who we are and how they connect us.

#### Community

A group of people that care about each other and feel they belong together. Onslow is a group of people who balance the rights of the individual against what is best for the group.

#### Diversity

At Onslow College we pride ourselves in including and accepting people of different social, socio-economic, learning styles, ethnic, genders, faith, sexual orientation.

## Year 9

Winners

Diversity: Cate Velloen

Community: Tuia Reedy

Whenau: Hamish Crookston

Whānau: Kobi Harrington

Whakapapa: George Fullelove

### Year 10

Winners

**Diversity:** Jay Gavin-Scott

**Community:** Maia Thompson

Whenau: Pemma de Wit

Whānau: Charlie Thornborough

Whakapapa: Jessica Churchman

# Tā mātou tauira miharo

#### OUR AMAZING STUDENTS — PŌ WHAKANUI 2022







He mihi tēnei ki a koutou mō ō koutou mahi ataahua rawa

# **Business Awards**

# CEO of the Year

Winner

Finn McKenzie: Rautaki

Breakout Entrepreneur of the Year

Winner

### Nishka Parekh: Fresh Factor

Rautaki

## Entrepreneur of the Year

Winner

Amaal Elashmawy: Girls Group Chat

> Design for Good Awards

> > Year 13 Winner

Jacob Lum

Year 12 Winner

Flynn Hogan

## Company of the Year

Winner

## Rautaki

- Finn McKenzie
  - Kate Whelan
- James Merwood
  - Jack Porter

Sam Cooper

# Prime Minister's Vocational Excellence Award

Winner

# Maria Isaza Puerta



**Year 11 Academic Award Winners** 

TOP IN YEAR LEVEL

**Theo Dawson** 

Nishka Parekh

**Jakob Butler** 

**Liam Butler** 

Lara Haslam

**Holly McLaughlin** 

**Year 12 Academic Award Winners** 

TOP IN YEAR LEVEL

**Maddie Porteous** 

Tessa Thomson

**Cameron Pryde** 

**Arabella Tries** 

**Lily Harward Jones** 

**Damon Sue** 

**Year 13 Academic Award Winners** 

TOP IN YEAR LEVEL 2022

**Kate Whelan** 

**Zoe Allen** 

Anuha Som

**Pepi Olliver-Bell** 

**Phoebe Riddle** 

Year 13 Academic Award Winners

TOP IN YEAR LEVEL 2021 & 2022

**Ryan Gordon** 

**Adam Byrne** 

**Cameron Chin** 

**Benjy Smith** 

**Jude Anderson** 

Sam Fernyhough